Full Moon Koh Samui

Thailand is a beautiful country to experience the full moon. The moon at its fullest adds a certain charm and magic to the islands of Thailand. When the earth is directly between the sun and the moon a full moon occurs. A full moon occurs every 29.53 days in the lunar cycle. In the Buddhist religion, the moon at its fullest has significance to the Buddhist Calendar. The Buddhists celebrate with meditation and mindfulness focusing on a state of stillness. They also believe the moon at its fullest has strong effects on our bodies and we should use the time to relax and regrow.

Full Moon Koh Samui

Full Moon Samui Style

Koh Samui celebrates the full moon with beach parties and fire shows but not on a level experienced by the island of Koh Phangan. For some guests, the full moon is an opportunity for a romantic meal on a secluded beach. There are some fabulous hotels and restaurants offering an evenings entertainment and the famous Thai hospitality. The best beach to celebrate in Koh Samui is the Chaweng Beach on the east of the island. For your party shopping, the shops and market stalls in Koh Samui have an abundance of party tee shirts hats and decorations.

Full Moon Koh Samui

Sailings to Full Moon Party

Every month the island of Koh Samui transports hundreds of tourists to Koh Phangan. The Big Buddha Pier is located in Bang Rak Koh Samui. The evening before and on the day of the parties the pier is at its busiest. To avoid disappointment book the tickets in advance. The hotels and hostels in Koh Samui offer their guests discount tickets including the ferry crossings. For the early morning ferry crossing consider staying the night before at the Casa Luna hostel or the Samui Pier Beach Resort. Both of the accommodations are within walking distance of the Big Buddha Pier Koh Samui.

Full Moon Koh Samui

Party Full Moon Koh Phangan

The tropical island of Koh Phangan is the full moon party capital of Thailand. The parties on the island are legendary and first started back in 1988 on the Haad Rin Beach. The parties started as a small affair and have continually grown to thousands of tourists visiting this iconic event. To discover everything you need to know about the parties connect with our travel guide for the island of Koh Phangan. The Koh Phangan Travel Guide offers the best in accommodation, restaurants and bars to enjoy the party atmosphere on the island.

Full Moon Party Dates 2018

Wednesday 27th June
Sunday 29th July
Sunday 26th August
Monday 24th September
Thursday 25th October
Thursday 22nd November
Saturday 22nd December
Christmas Day 25th December
New Year’s Eve 31st December

Full Moon Koh Samui

Full Moon Party Dates 2019

Sunday 20th January
Wednesday 20th February
Wednesday 20th March
Friday 19th April
Sunday 19th May
Monday 17th June
Thursday 18th August
Friday 13th September
Monday 14th October
Monday 11th November
Wednesday 11th December
New Year’s Eve 31st December

What is your experience of full moon parties? Do you have a story to share about the party island? Have you used the Big Buddha Pier for transfers lets us know your experience. Share your comments and reviews below.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.